When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Thank you to netgalley and Hodder and Stoughton for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Safe to say this was one of my most anticipated reads of the year I was constantly pestering publishers for an arc because I just could not wait. 

Dimple wants to be a computer something and is so jazzed when her parents agree for her to go to a camp at San Francisco for the summer when they’ve shown no interest in her studies prior to this. However Dimple finds out that her mother had an ulterior motive and is hoping she will spend time with a boy that she’s set her up with who thinks that Dimple is going to be his wife. 

I adored that they had it the opposite of stereotypes of a het relationship. The girl not wanting any commitment because she wants to go to uni and the guy being so set on getting married was different to the cultural norm. 

This book was super sweet and I loved the majority of my time reading it, however the ending did feel quite rushed compared to the rest of the book. It kind of felt like Menon realised she needed to start wrapping it up and panicked. 

There was a lot of racism dealt with in this book and you got to see what it’s like for Indian Americans. I could never understand what it’s like for them as a white woman but I felt like this brought me pretty close to it. 

I loved how the book explored familial bonds, as well as racism and young love between to Indian Americans, Dimple was so caught up in her own goals that she struggled to see how proud of her her mother really was. She just thought that her mum wanted her to get married and live a quiet life and as the novel goes on you see Dimple learning that that’s simply not the case. 

Now if you don’t like instalove you might not like this book, but I always remember when I read YA with instalove how when I was a teen I would crush on people without even having a conversation with them so it doesn’t ever bother me when I read fast feelings in YA because that’s what teens are like. 

If you want a sweet diverse summer contemporary by an own voices author then this is the book for you. Who wouldn’t want that though? 

Book Depository

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

3 thoughts on “When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Leave a Reply

