Harmless Like You by Rowan Hisayo Buchanan

Thank you to bookbridgr for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

In Harmless Like You we follow two stories, Jay in modern day who has just lost his dad who was the only parental figure he ever had, and his mum in the 60s as she tries to figure out what she really wants from life. 

I’m not really sure what to make of this book. I found the story really interesting and a take on displacement that I’d never read or thought of before but I found both Jay and his mum just not likeable, and whilst characters don’t have to be likeable I just found myself getting more annoyed the more I read. 

Yuki was in an abusive relationship for the majority of the book and it was good to see the victims point of view of a relationship like that to see how people can be manipulated and they can’t just get themselves out of it. But it really annoyed me how Yuki got into a relationship with this man despite seeing him be abusive with another woman, I just didn’t get it? 

I also just didn’t understand Jay, of course I get that people don’t always feel connected to their children and babies but he was just so unhelpful towards his wife. 

The writing was good though, I could feel distinct differences in the times of the characters. I felt like I was in the 70s when reading Yuki’s chapters, there was a good feel to them. And I think Buchanan will do well with further novels. 

Book Depository

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

Leave a Reply

