Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

This was an incredibly interesting read. I’d seen a lot of people buzzing about it and I really wasn’t sure if I would get on with it. I have a lot of problems with formatting in books, and the smallest thing can put me off so the fact that this was all told in case files was quite daunting to me. I also wasn’t sure about it because I can be a bit iffy about sci-fi and sometimes I think I prefer sci-fi tv/movies to books. But man alive was it good.

As an aside right now I am not a fan of Jay Kristoff as he has repeatedly culturally appropriated for his books and has never apologised for it. Had this not been a joint written book I wouldn’t be nearly as in love with it.

So after breaking up Kady and Ezra are shot into space after their planet is attacked by the rival corporation to the one that owns the planet they’re on. They have to navigate their way through 2 ships with a crazed AI, being chased by the ship that killed their loved ones, and a disease that is causing the other survivors to turn into zombies. And it’s all told through case files.

I adored Ezra a lot, and whilst I wasn’t a fan of Kady to begin with she really grew on me. I really felt like I knew their characters even though I was only reading their chat logs and emails. I loved getting to know Aiden, the AI as a character, he was so self aware and seemed to have real emotions. It was just different for me to read from his perspective.

The one problem, and this is a very tiny problem, is that I found myself enjoying certain types of data files more than others, and I would skip ahead just to make sure certain things had happened and then go back and read properly.

I’ve heard from a lot of people that the audiobook for this was really good so I bought that and I’m excited to try it at some point. It apparently sounds like a space opera.

Whilst I was addicted to this book and read it really quickly, it was also really easy to dip in and out of because the data files were quite short so I wasn’t confused when I had to take a break.

Book Depository

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

2 thoughts on “Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

  1. One of those books I’m yet to try and read… I wasn’t- still am not- a whole lot sure about the format either but it seems a lot of readers actually enjoyed it… So, it’s the usual case of, just having to get the book and giving it a try! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: May Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

