The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Thank you to Netgalley and Penguin Random House Children’s UK for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review. I’ve honestly been dreading writing this review because I loved this book so much and I don’t honestly know how to even talk about it.

Molly has a lot of crushes and all of them are unrequited, or she thinks they are because she never gets the confidence to tell them. When Molly’s sister Cassie gets a girlfriend Molly starts to feel even more sad about her unrequited love. But Cassie has a cute friend who Molly thinks maybe she could love, at the same time she starts to feel things for her coworker Reid.

This book is in contention for my favourite book of the year. I absolutely adored Simon Vs and I think I liked this even more. It has a chubby Jewish MC, a chubby romantic interest, lesbian mums, a pansexual, Korean character. It was just so wonderfully real. As someone who is pansexual it was especially important for me that there was a pansexual character.

This has a sort of love triangle but it’s not really a love triangle because one of the love interests is more of a forced flirtation caused by Cassie. But I liked how Albertalli dealt with the situation, it felt so real and not like how uncomfortable and silly some love triangles are.

I just want to take a second to talk about how much I loved the representation in this book. As someone who is both chubby and pansexual it meant a lot to me to read a YA book with characters who were the same. I think this is the first book I’ve ever read where there was a pansexual character and I’m just so happy about it. I hope that more books include pan characters. I also loved reading a chubby MC and about a chubby love interest. It’s not often that a love interest doesn’t have the “perfect” body. And on top of all that Molly has anxiety and she takes medication for it and that’s just part of her every day life and it was so good to read someone who has anxiety just living with it and seeing the ups and downs even with meds.

This book just made me feel so warm and fuzzy inside. There’s something about the way Albertalli writes that I just really adore. She doesn’t add unnecessary drama and she just has characters living their lives. I also love how Simon Vs. had Oreos and this has Mini Eggs, I adore Mini Eggs but you can only get them at Easter time which makes me sad.

The wedding may date this book as it surrounds gay marriage being made legal in the states but I loved reading something that was relevant to where we are now.

I already want to reread this book because I just loved it so much and has solidified Becky Albertalli as an auto-buy author for me.

Book Depository

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

4 thoughts on “The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

  1. Pingback: May Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

