Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

Thank you to netgalley and Hachette Children’s Group for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

So Passenger was one of the first books I reviewed on my blog last year and I really liked it so when Wayfarer popped up on netgalley I was so quick to request it.

I felt like Wayfarer was definitely better than Passenger, but maybe thats because there’s a lot more of the time travelling world in it. Where the first book was getting to grips with the world and showing the reader what could happen the second book was a lot more fast paced and showed so much more of the time travelling aspect and the chases through time aspect that was originally advertised.

The main thing that I really liked about this book was that we got to know Etta and Nicholas away from each other. They were very reliant on each other in the first novel and yes there was insta-love, but in this book they spend the majority of it apart. We get to see how they tick in the time travel setting without each other there.

I liked how Bracken still continued with the world building in this novel. Things were introduced slowly, but not too slowly in that you were bored, and it built on previously explained things. There were times where I was a bit confused but that might have been my concentration levels rather than the actual novel. The little parts in each time period were well developed for the short amount of novel space they had and I got a good idea of the setting of each place without being overwhelmed.

I think I would’ve liked this even more had the end been different. It was kind of satisfying because it just ended with all the ends tied together, but it kind of left me feeling a bit like “oh of course it just all came together really nicely”. I’m not going to spoil anything but if anyone else had read it and felt like this please let me know so I can discuss it.

Book Depository

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

3 thoughts on “Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

  1. Pingback: April Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

