Mini Reviews #3

28195785

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

Oh man I loved reading this. I’m a Star Wars fan, though not to the extent o the people like the ones in this book, so reading this was so fun for me. I’ve never queued for a Star Wars film and I doubt I ever will but I loved reading about the experiences of these characters. I liked that the MC was Vietnamese as well, you don’t read many books with Vietnamese characters, though Rowell hasn’t had a good history with writing Asian characters, see numerous reviews of Eleanor and Park, this one was ok I think. I have however queued for bands so some of this definitely resonated for me.

 

32942666

Princess Saves Herself in this One

Thank you to netgalley and Andrews McMeel publishing for sending me a copy in exchange for a review.

I’m not a massive poetry person, I struggle to understand poetry often but I really liked this collection. It was a 4 star read for me until the last section, there are 4 sections, and the final section just really stood out to me, I cried for a little bit. Now if you don’t like tumblr post style poetry this isn’t for you, there’s a lot of disjointed sentences. I really loved the formatting at times because it was dragged across pages and sometimes there was huge gaps, so it really worked in making you feel things. I would also give a trigger warning for self harm and suicidal thoughts.

 

The Lightning Thief and The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

I read these books a few years ago, like 6 maybe, and I genuinely can’t remember any of it but I wanted to read the series and the rest of Riordan’s books so I knew I had to reread them. They’re so much funnier than I remember. I also really struggled with The Sea of Monsters when I read it, that was kind of the beginning of the 5 year slump so reading it now was a much more enjoyable experience. I’ll be writing individual full reviews for the rest of the books in the series as they will be fresh first time reads.

 

32146161

Coffee Boy by Austin Chant

This book was so wonderful. It would’ve been one of my favourite books of the year had it been longer. I desperately wanted to read more after the characters got together but it just ended. The MC is both a trans man and gay so he faces a lot of prejudice in his new work space but his boss is very keen on making sure that everyone treats Kieran with the respect he deserves.

I think because this was own voices it felt all that more authentic and genuine. The experiences the MC faced felt like real life experiences, the things he felt read really well and made me feel even more sad about the way trans people are treated because it gave me insight into the mind of a trans person. Kieran also had to work at a place where he wasn’t out so had to dress as the gender he was assigned at birth and it was interesting to read.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

10 thoughts on “Mini Reviews #3

  1. I’m so glad to see you liked The Princess Saves Herself In This One and Coffee Boy since I really want to read both of those. I’m not a huge poetry fan, but I’ve been wanting to read some recently and I’ve heard really good things about that collection (and I see it everywhere on Twitter/Insta/Tumblr). And I just recently won a giveaway of Austin Chant’s other book, Peter Darling and I’m seriously so excited to read it. I can tell it’s going to be amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series when I read them as well 🙂 I remember the overall story, but have been thinking of giving the series a reread as well since I’ve forgotten so much. I’m not so sure the other two are for me, but I’m very interested in Coffee Boy. It sounds very interesting. Great reviews!

    I’d also like to let you know, in case you haven’t yet seen the post, that I’ve nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! If you’d like to participate please head over to the post for the rules here: https://maniacalbookunicorn.wordpress.com/2017/04/06/the-one-lovely-blog-award/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: April Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

