All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

So to start off here is a little backstory on why I picked this book up. I hadn’t heard of it prior to this happening. I was in London in August seeing The Cursed Child with my best friend Jess and her mum. We were sitting in a nice vegan restaurant just talking about my blog because it was still relatively new at that time, and then Jess’ mum mentions a book that someone she met at her work mentioned to her. She couldn’t remember what it was called or what happened in it just that it contained the word “light”. I hopped on Goodreads and literally searched the word light and this was the first book which came up and was the book she was thinking about. So then it was stuck in my head, and it sounded like a book I might want to read so I picked it up from the library.

Marie-Laure is a blind girl living in Paris with her dad and she has to move at the beginning of the war due to circumstances from her dad’s job at the Natural History Museum. Werner is an orphan who lives in a mining town in Germany and develops a talent for engineering. Some Nazis discover his talent and take him to a very severe Hitler Youth Academy. Their stories run concurrently and flick back and forth between current book time, when they are both on an Island off the coast of Brittany which is about to be bombed, and past book time.

I thought this was a really interesting take on WW2, a kid who was forced into being a Nazi just to survive being an orphan and a blind French girl just trying to live wasn’t something I had thought about. I liked learning about Werner as an engineer, I loved reading from Marie-Laure’s perspective because Doerr wrote perfectly what it was like for her being able to hear what was going on but not being able to see. It was a scary POV to read from in the setting.

I can see why it won the Pulitzer Prize and can see why others would absolutely adore this book but for me, it didn’t sit right enough for me to completely love it. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it but something didn’t gel with me, everyone who I’ve seen speak about this really loved it and a customer saw I was reading it in work and waxed lyrical about it and I was just like “yeah it’s ok”.

Though I knew Marie-Laure and Werner were eventually going to meet up because of course they were, it felt like it was taking a very long time for this to happen. There was a lot of build up for them meeting up and when they did it felt a bit of a let down to be honest. The whole book just felt a bit slow for my liking, I had issues with pacing. The past parts of it were so slow but then the current parts were fast and it was jarring at times.

Objectively I can see why people love this book, but for me I liked it and that’s it.

Book Depository

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

6 thoughts on “All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

  1. I tried starting this and got to the first page and just wasn’t in the mood to read the writing I don’t know I wanted a book I could just binge and not think to much about, I do plan on picking this up but I’m just going to wait until I’m in the right mood so I can enjoy it a bit more 🙂 Great review, I think this is the first non gushing review I’ve read, I feel like I’m going to feel the same way about the book but hey you never know xD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: March Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

