Off The Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer

This is advertised as a book that can be read as a standalone even though it is part of a series, but I haven’t read the first book and I can definitely say that there’s a few bits where obviously something has happened in the first book and they reference it and don’t fully explain. So if you’e going to read this book don’t read it as a stand alone.

Delilah is finally getting the life she wants to live with her book boyfriend literally living in the real world and going to the same school as her. However things begin to start falling apart, in both the real world and the book world.

The writing felt faultless, there wasn’t a point where it felt awkward or anything from it being joint written, I would imagine because they’re mother and daughter their styles are just effortlessly interwoven.

Overall I just felt a bit let down by this book, it was kind of cliche and meh and whilst I didn’t have any major complaints it didn’t wow me. The human aspects of it were much more compelling than the fairytale part of it.

Whilst this is a short review I think that is quite telling of my feelings on the book. I didn’t feel anything strongly enough about it obviously in either direction. Maybe I will read it again after reading the first book but I doubt it, I’m not too bothered about the series.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

5 thoughts on “Off The Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer

  1. I haven’t read any of Jodi’s co written books with her daughter I love her adult fiction and don’t think I’d enjoy these stories very much I can just picture them as being a bit cliche and not really my thing like you thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: March Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

