Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

Why bother with writing this review when my feelings can be summed up in: READ IT.

Thank you to netgalley and Viking for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I’m a white woman so whilst I endeavour to explain things as best as I can let me know if I’ve said something offensive and I’ll correct it ASAP.

Homegoing follows the generations of 2 sisters (who didn’t know each other existed), Effia who is sold into slavery and Esi who is a slave trader’s wife. It alternates POVs from each side of the family though each generation until the modern day.

This book just really affected me. I just sat for like half an hour afterwards just not sure what to do with myself. I still just sit and think about it and I read it in December. It goes through every kind of racial inequality and experience that you can imagine from people who are descended from African slaves. Of course, it’s not every experience but it just felt like it. We go through riding the boat to America, to taking part in the slave trade just to live, to being persecuted for your father taking part in the slave trade, to growing up on cotton farms, to living free but not really free at all, to mine working, to the 1960s race riots, and so on and so forth. I really loved that there wasn’t just being put down for your race but also there was sexuality discussions in tense times for being gay.

I could not believe that this was a debut, the writing was so incredible. I could really feel everything and imagine all the settings described. I was so close to tears for a lot of it because the writing was so on point. I will definitely be reading anything Yaa Gyasi releases next.

If I have one complaint it was the PO switching, when I started the book I found it a bit disjointed because I wasn’t used to it. However after a few of these changes I got used to it and it began to feel a lot more natural. Gyasi was really good at introducing you to the next character, whether it be when they’re a baby or really getting to know them, you at least have a vague idea of who you’re going to hear from next.

I honestly don’t think I can do this book justice so please promise me you’ll read it. It’s one of those moments in life where I just felt changed as a person simply for reading it.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

8 thoughts on “Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

  1. This book is on my TBR and I can’t wait to read it, I love books that can just make you sit and think about it after you finish the last page its how I judge if a book was 5 stars most times and this story sounds like something I would love, great review Kirst 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: March Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

