Sabriel by Garth Nix

If you want classic YA fantasy, Sabriel is one of the first ones to come to mind. Garth Nix has been in the YA game for what seems like centuries, so I thought I would finally give one of his books a go.

Sabriel’s father, Abhorsen, has crossed to the other side and Sabriel, despite being a teenager and never having done anything of the manner must journey into The Old Kingdom on her own to clue together exactly what has happened to her dad and

One thing I really found interesting about this book was the world. It’s split in 2 separated by only a wall but the 2 places couldn’t be any different. On one side you have Ancelstierre, which I imagine is something like early 1900s earth, but we don’t really see much of it, and on the other we have The Old Kingdom which is like your classic High fantasy kingdom, medieval kind of style with magic and monsters etc. The world building was absolutely fantastic, I could imagine everything perfectly

This felt slow at times, it was a bit heavy going. The writing was really good but at times I needed to read things over a couple of times just to figure out what was actually happening.

I loved all the characters, Nix created a wonderful cast of people. Everyone had a really strong voice and I found it funny often, mainly Mogget’s interactions with everyone, it was so sarcastic and I loved it.

There’s a few twists and turns that were expected or not expected but even when I did expect them it was fun when the reveal happened.

Looking at other reviews I’ve seen a general feeling of enjoying it but feeling a kind of disconnect with it which I guess is how I feel. I could have really loved this book but something just didn’t feel quite right about it (not that there’s anything wrong just that it wasn’t right with me). I’m definitely going to continue with this series but I’ll be expecting more out of it the further the series goes.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

4 thoughts on “Sabriel by Garth Nix

  1. I love this book, particularly the world and the unique style of the magic, and of course, Mogget! But I do think the two sequels Lirael and Abhorsen go more in depth (they are really like one book divided in two) and you get more attached to the characters and drawn into the world… I remember being very addicted by the end of the 2nd book. Anyway, hopefully if you read them you will find that something more you are looking for!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: February Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

