The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

This is a strange but interesting book. It’s about the people in the background, the not chosen ones, the rest. The whole idea of this book is really humorous but there were times where it just fell short.

Mikey just wants to graduate before his school blows up. He knows it’s coming because weird stuff keeps happening to the indie kids every few years.

This book has little snippets at the beginning of each chapter that tells you what the chosen ones are doing whilst the regular people are carrying on with their lives. Every now and again the crazy fantastical stuff that’s happening in the background crosses over into the actual plot, but sometimes the concept of the book was easily forgettable and it just felt like a classic YA contemporary.

Our MC Mikey is kind of annoying and I wished I could’ve read this from a different character’s POV like Henna. Mikey struggled to accept that his best friend wasn’t what he thought he was and I just felt really apathetic to him. The characters were so wonderfully diverse and I loved that that was just part of it, it wasn’t a big thing, it wasn’t like LOOK A GAY COUPLE or SHE’S A POC. There was mental illness, there was lgbt+ rep, and racial diversity and I loved reading that

There is a lot of dark humour in this book. I love dark humour, I found myself laughing a lot. It also read really well, whilst the plot wasn’t the greatest and there was some problems I had with it I still found it such a fun, easy read and I got through it super quick.

This was my second Patrick Ness book after The Monster Calls and recently I tried to read The Knife of Never Letting Go but had to put it down because of the style of writing, so maybe Patrick Ness just isn’t for me but I’m going to keep trying.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

5 thoughts on “The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

  1. Pingback: February Wrap Up
  2. I loved this book I though the cast was amazing and I liked how it was and wasn’t a contemporary, I’ve been hit and miss with Ness’s writing as well I loved A Monster Calls and this one but really didn’t like More Than This and have The Knife of Never letting go on my shelf but I’m hesitant because I don’t know if I’m going to enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

