Kill the Boyband by Goldy Moldavsky

Thank you to netgalley and Pan MacMillan for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

This has to be one of the weirdest books I have ever read. 4 girls kidnap their least favourite member of their favourite band hoping to get something out of it but it all spirals so wildly out of control.

Honestly, I didn’t know whether to find this book hilarious or ridiculous. I’m a big fan of One Direction and at times this felt really degrading, but I could see the black humour of it. But even though there was times I felt this was a bit sexist there was also times where it shows how important fans are for a band and how female fans can either make or break your career. It’s been a couple of month’s since I read this book (I have a ridiculous review backlog because I read too fast) and I still don’t know how I feel about it.

This was really entertaining, I couldn’t put it down, but that’s because it was absolutely insane. Just when you thought things couldn’t get any worse they did.

I think this is supposed to be completely awful and horrendous to show how teenage girls are treated for loving a band so whole heartedly. It’s supposed to make the reader think about their past actions, but at times it just felt completely off the mark. There was some really offensive things at times that I feel were supposed to be satirical but to me didn’t read that way. However often parts of this novel defends the rights of teenage girls to love who they want to love so long as it makes them happy.

A very weird book.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

One thought on “Kill the Boyband by Goldy Moldavsky

  1. Pingback: January Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

