Corrupt Me Blog Tour | Jillian Quinn Guest Post and Review | Inspiration for Corrupt Me

cm-synopsis-website

Guest Post

When I first came up with the idea for Corrupt Me, I was watching Goodfellas, one of my favorite movies. Most of the time an idea comes to me while I’m watching TV because of a question I ask myself. With Corrupt Me, I asked, “What would it be like to date a Mafioso?” I’ve always loved when Henry takes Karen to The Copacabana in Goodfellas. That was her first real taste of what it was like to date a wiseguy, and when I started plotting this novel, I instantly saw a lot of Karen in Izzie. There’s a certain thrill Izzie gets when she’s around Luca, and that part of her character was inspired by Lorraine Bracco’s portrayal of Karen in Goodfellas.

Before they get married in the movie, Karen says that she knew Henry was a bad man and it turned her on. The same thing is true of Izzie Rinaldi in Corrupt Me when she rekindles her childhood relationship with Luca Marchese. When it comes to The Godfather, I always wanted to write a character that reminded me of Michael Corleone, and I found that in Izzie. She’s not your typical heroine and she will do anything to protect her family just like Michael.

The Godfather and the relationship between Michael Corleone and Kay Adams mostly inspired this series. I always wondered what could have happened if they had worked as a team. When I created Luca’s character, I knew without a doubt that he was a little bit of Michael Corleone, even if it was just his placement within the family and not his overall development. But I think what I did with his character will surprise some readers. Vincent Piazza’s portrayal of Lucky Luciano in Boardwalk Empire also inspired his character.

At the end of The Godfather novel, there’s a scene between Kay Adams and Tom Hagen that is not in the movies. That pivotal scene is what helped shape Corrupt Me. Tom delivers a message to Kay that I thought was brilliant and made me love the book even more. To leave some mystery for the readers, I won’t get into detail.

I hope readers have the same feeling about Corrupt Me.

Thank you for having me on your blog. I hope everyone enjoyed this guest post.

Review

I struggled with what to write in this review because I would consider Jill my friend so of course I want to support her but I was also like how do I structure this review so that I’m not biased and also completely fair.

The pacing of this novel was really good, it never felt too fast or too slow and I kept wanting to read more. The characters were quite believable, and I’m glad that there’s chapter in Luca’s POV otherwise I think I would’ve hated him for some of the stuff he did had we not seen his reasoning for it.

I wish there hadn’t been so much girl on girl hate, I’m not much a fan of reading that, us girls have got to stick together.

I really appreciated how important consent was in this book as many other novels of this genre struggle with making it obvious whether the sex is actually consensual, be it due to alcohol or just awkwardness.

As it is a mafia book the families are of course Italian and oh my god there was so many descriptions of food, be warned, if you read this book you will be absolutely staving afterwards.

I’m honestly not a huge fan of books of this genre, I prefer comedy romance or YA romance but this was really fun to read and of course I will be looking out for Jill’s future releases.  I think if you like Colleen Hoover books you will likely enjoy reading this!

About the Author

Jillian Quinn was born and raised in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and currently lives in sunny Cape Coral, Florida where she still pretends it’s okay to drink hot chocolate and curl up on the couch with a good book, even when it’s ninety degrees outside. From an early age, writing and storytelling have been her passion. In her spare time, she loves creating fictional worlds and living inside the minds of her characters as well as reading, art, and watching basketball and hockey.

Jillian is also a successful book blogger, dubbed by her followers as The Queen of Rants after making her blog, Rant and Rave About Books, a popular destination in the bookish community because of her honesty and passion for books.

Corrupt Me is her first novel with other young adult and new adult titles to follow.

16088454

Stalker Links

Facebook | Twitter | Author Website | Goodreads Profile

corrupt-me-available-for-pre-order-now-graphic

Where to buy:

– Amazon (universal link) myBook.to/CorruptMe

– Barnes & Noble http://tinyurl.com/zmewnm4

– Kobo http://tinyurl.com/hs57ewx

– iBooks http://tinyurl.com/jno2tzhl

Corrupt Me by Jillian Quinn on Goodreads

 

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

5 thoughts on “Corrupt Me Blog Tour | Jillian Quinn Guest Post and Review | Inspiration for Corrupt Me

  1. Pingback: January Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

