My Mental Health and My Blog

I want to take a few minutes to talk about my mental health.

I’ve been struggling on and off for about 8 year now, I go through periods of lows and then feel normal for a couple of years and then the lows come back. At the beginning of last year I started to go back into one of my lows. Then a couple of months later I discovered booktube and started my blog (because I can’t be bothered to learn how to edit videos).

Over the past year I’ve found my depression getting better and I feel a bit more stable now, and whilst that is mainly thanks to no longer being in the stressful environment of uni and taking some medication for it, part of it I think is down to my blog. I get to write reviews and feel a sense of accomplishment when I’ve gathered up enough effort to finish one. It’s so nice getting to speak to so many people and watch my follows gradually climb. I love the feeling I get when I see how many views/likes a post has received.

It’s given me a hobby that I’d never even thought of. Friends that I never even imagined having. It gives me an outlet instead of just shouting into the void. The book community, for the most part, are so supportive and I don’t even feel worried about posting something like this.

There are days when I don’t do much, like when I’m off work and even though it can feel like a chore sometimes when I write a review I feel like I’ve actually accomplished something. Which can be a big thing when you struggle with your mental health.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

12 thoughts on “My Mental Health and My Blog

  1. I relate to this so much!! Blogging has definitely helped me a lot with my MI. Some days are really hard to do anything, but if I can just get a post up or reply to some comments it really helps me feel like I’ve accomplished something even if it is small. Thanks for sharing, Kirsty ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the same way a lot. It makes me feel better when I’m down but manage to blog or write a review. My blog is a helpful companion for good days and bad days. So happy your blog helps you feel better too ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for sharing about your mental health – you really touched my heart with your transparency and how much you shared. I also struggle with mental health diagnoses and so much of what you wrote made me feel like I was not alone and my heart and thoughts went out you. You are going to help so many people, touch the lives of those you may never meet, because you decided to share your story. So happy I came across your blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: January Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

