The Martian by Andy Weir

I did a bad thing and watched the movie before reading the book. I honestly wasn’t even interested in reading the book until I watched the film though. The film was pretty true to the book I felt.

I’m sure you know what the Martian is about but if you don’t it’s about a guy called Mark Watney who gets stranded on Mars after his crew thinks that he died. The next mission to Mars isn’t for 5 years and he only has enough rations for 1-2 years.

I was worried after watching the film how they would explain all the science stuff in the books, I’m pretty good at understanding science related wording because I studied science a lot in school. It honestly was fairly straight forward, there was a lot of jargon but it was explained for the most part. However after a while I found my mind numbing with all the jargon, there was just so much. I get that it’s science fiction, I get that it’s all about getting a man back from being stranded on Mars, but honestly some of it was hard work. I didn’t have trouble understanding it, it was just tiring.

Despite the tiring jargon though it really felt like something that was actually happening. It felt like it was all in the realm of possibility, and I really felt myself getting to the edge of my seat sometimes, even though I knew what was going to happen.

Something I really adored about this book was how funny Mark was. Honestly his humour was right up my street, he’s a smart ass and I love reading people like that in books.

The rest of the characters were pretty diverse but also they kind of felt non existent sometimes. I couldn’t remember who all he people working at NASA were and who was what part of the team.

I think the film and the book are pretty on par in my opinion, which doesn’t happen often. So if you can’t be bothered to read all the info but could sit through a movie, you should watch the movie, if you aren’t a movie person the book is good too.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

19 thoughts on “The Martian by Andy Weir

  1. I agree, the movie adaptation of The Martian was spot. I enjoyed the movie and book equally, but the science and mathematical jargon did becoming taxing after awhile. Great review – to the point!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw I’m sad that you didn’t absolutely love this one. I found Watney to be just the most hilarious character and I loved his narration. I’m not sure how I feel about the movie – I think you’re right that it’s pretty on par but I think a lot of the hilarity of the story is completely lost doing it in a cinematic version where we’re not in the character’s head the whole time. That, and the horrible addition to the ending they decided to whack on! I was so annoyed that they didn’t feel they could just leave it where the book ends, gah, silly movie makers trying to tie perfect ribbons on stories the whole time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: December Wrap Up 

Leave a Reply

