Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes 

Whilst I enjoyed Falling Kingdoms I didn’t feel overly attached to it, but god damn this book really got me going. I hate when they put on the covers “if you liked blah you will like this” because often it just sets high standards, but this is honestly reminiscent of a YA version of Game of Thrones. There’s so much blood spilled, you can’t get attached to any characters because god knows who’s gonna cark it next.

I really enjoyed the character development of this book. I felt like I was actually beginning to understand the characters and their motives. At this point I’m desperate to see where the plot actually goes, because I can see the plots beginning to form and I’m excited. Every character is complex, which I think I’ve mentioned in past reviews of high fantasy as being something which is difficult, as it is. I’ve dabbled in writing myself and I found it really quite difficult to have a cohesive personality for each character that didn’t end up meshing together. You have people like Magnus who, I personally like despite him being a bit of a knob head because I can just tell from the way he’s written that there’s more than meets the eye.

I liked reading Magnus and Cleo’s chapters best, I feel like most of my intrigue came from what they would be doing. I don’t care for Lucia, something about her is fishy to me, and Jonas is just a bit of a plonker really.

I wrote a note to myself about someone being gay in this, and I had to remind myself so it’s obviously not a huge part of the book but it has the potential to be, and you know I’m all about that lgbt+ representation especially in fantasy books. For some reason in the fantasy genre it always seems to be some sort of middle aged kind of world where people are only allowed to be straight. What I would absolutely adore is a fantasy book something like this or Lord of the Rings or Throne of Glass, where it feels more like a less developed time period but with really open minded laws about sex. I think that would be really cool.

Something that popped out to me in this book  was how we get to see the change over of a crown. It’s not often that you see what happens before and after a big fight, most of the time the crazy ruler is already in place, so it was interesting to see what the people of the countries and the higher ups did. Whether they lied to stay alive or just went about their lives as if nothing had changed.

All in all a good second book, I’ve heard that the series just gets better as it goes on so I can’t wait to read the rest.

6 thoughts on “Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes 

  1. I’m so glad you’re enjoying this series! I’m up to book three now as well and DAMN I just can’t wait to see where it all goes. I want to roll my eyes too at the GoT comparison but good lord, how else does one describe this series?! Let’s hope it continues to be amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: December Wrap Up 

Leave a Reply

