Cress by Marissa Meyer 

Honestly I don’t feel like there’s much I can say about this book without posting too many spoilers. I feel like The Lunar Chronicles has hit it’s stride with this book. I was on the edge of my seat for the majority of reading this. With previous novels in the series I found them slow occasionally but I didn’t find that at all with Cress.

Throughout the series I have really enjoyed the way Meyer has interwoven the fairytale elements within the sci-fi story. As I was reading I would find myself going “ohhhh yeah that happens in the original” and appreciating how it was written to fit in. On top of that there is your classic YA fantasy shocks from characters that you have known for 2 books now and didn’t expect them to do. Most of the novel is set in Africa which I enjoyed as Africa isn’t a common setting.

Cress is a lovely character, she’s sweet and naive without being annoying. I thought she worked perfectly in the group, she brings something new as both Scarlet and Cinder are loud personalities and are confident in themselves whereas Cress who has been living in a Satellite most of her life doesn’t really know much about life and has problems with her self esteem.

My one issue is that everyone is pairing off and they’re all straight pairings. Though they are all sweet I know that these are all fairytale retellings of straight stories but I feel like Meyer maybe could have put a little twist in there with some sexuality diversity.

I’m really excited to read Winter but I’m going to put it off for a little while just because it is fucking huge. It’s like 850 pages or something like that and I’ve read a few big books lately.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

 

5 thoughts on “Cress by Marissa Meyer 

Leave a Reply

