We Were on a Break by Lindsey Kelk

Thank you to netgalley and Harper Collins for a copy of this book in return for an honest review.

I reviewed Always The Bridesmaid by Lindsey Kelk back in May and was keen on reading other books by her so when this popped up on netgalley I jumped on it. I didn’t like it as much as Always The Bridesmaid but I still really enjoyed it.

Liv and Adam are on holiday and everything is ready for Adam to propose, howevere the night heads in a bad direction and Ada has a bit of a breakdown and suddenly they’re on a break.

One of the first things that I really picked up on was how this read like a Richard Curtis film. Think something along the lines of Bridget Jones or Notting Hill. So many things kept going wrong when the characters were trying to sort their lives out. It was classic British farce comedy, yeah it could’ve been wrapped up a lot faster had the characters not being blundering idiots but that’s part of the journey. I could see people from other countries not getting it, and from other reviews I’ve seen there have been some people but oh well.

It was good to read a book of this genre with a split POV, I liked getting to see both characters and how they felt about the situation and how they tried to do things but ended up screwing up. I think after reading this that there’s a real gap in the market for romantic comedy books that have multiple POVs, there are a lot of films where we get to see all but it’s not as common in books.

Something I’ve noticed in both this book and Always the Bridesmaid is that Kelk likes to give her characters one kind of normal-ish friend and one completely batty/controlling/misguided friend. I often found myself getting annoyed because Liv and Adam’s friends kept getting themselves involved where they shouldn’t have been and making everything worse than it could’ve been.

As I read the book I really understood how things fell apart on their holiday, not even through things that the characters say but just witnessing their relationships with people. Some of their friends are married and from that they see the pressures of marriage and parenthood, and of course there are real life pressures and familial pressures, and I think Kelk did really well in showing the different pressures of a long term relationship.

This is definitely a good read to dip in and out of and is so funny, if you like Hugh Grant films then this is right up your street.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

2 thoughts on “We Were on a Break by Lindsey Kelk

Leave a Reply

