A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

First off I loved that this book had illustrations along with the story as it really gave a feel for some of the scenes.

Conor gets nightmares every night but one night at exactly 12.07 he has a particularly bad nightmare about a huge tree monster. The next morning he wakes up to discover that there’s leaves all over his bedroom even though his window was closed.

This was so weird and not what I expected when I heard about it. It starts off at a scary book but then turns into one of loss and acceptance. Conor’s mum has cancer and the tree monster has to explain to Conor what is happening through weird metaphors.

It didn’t make me cry, I feel like I’m the only person to say this, and I cry at every thing. Honestly, I just feel like I need to read it again because I didn’t really get it like everyone else, it didn’t hit me like everyone else. The writing was beautiful but I don’t know.

I’m honestly just left feeling very “I don’t know” about this whole thing, the book itself was great but I was left feeling like there was something wrong with me as I didn’t feel affected by it. Have you ever felt like this? I feel like I’ve completely missed something. When I was trying to write this review I just couldn’t come up with anything to say about it because I just felt like I didn’t feel anything, I was struggling with it for days.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

 

5 thoughts on “A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

  1. Interesting review! I was amazed by the book and loved how powerful it was. Maybe a re-read in the future could clear things up for you and change your reading experience? You could also wait for the movie adaptation and see if that doesn’t make you realize something you might have missed or clear things up for you. 😛

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

