Ready Player One by Ernest Cline 

I wrote some notes to myself whilst reading this book and I literally have no idea what they mean so oh well.

Ready Player One is like VR taken to the complete extreme. Everyone lives their lives in a video game called Oasis. It has schooling, jobs, virtual sex, you name it it has it. When the creator died he left a huge easter egg (actual in game easter egg) hunt for the entire world to attempt with the end prize being to win his entire monopoly.

Honestly I just really loved this book. It’s been a long time since I’ve loved a dystopian like I loved this one. I like some dystopians but it’s not my favourite genre but it seems like a lot of them get written so they always end up on my TBR. Ready Player One is probably the first dystopian I have really loved since The Hunger Games. I could not stop reading this book, I was desperate to see where the hunt would lead the MC and what would happen to him in this time that he was searching for everything.

The world building was truly fantastic. The difference between people’s lives in the game versus their real lives was really stark. Trailer park stacks is something I could really imagine happening. I loved the idea of VR school. Your avatar going to school instead of you gets rid of all your insecurities. You wouldn’t even have to leave the comfort of your own homes. And god there were so many references, not even just the ones related to the quest, but just really completely strange phrases that were so off the wall that I had to laugh.

This book has some really self aware characters, our MC once talks about his white male privilege, and is well aware of when he’s being sexist and tries to school himself. There’s just a really interesting attitude towards sexism in video games and life. The way you can just completely remake yourself in Oasis and practically live there if you are unhappy as how you are. When our MC meets his friends in real life eventually everyone is not how he expects them based on their avatar, but he accepts them how they are.

The MC himself, Wade, is really likeable to start off with, but then as he becomes more successful he grows an ego. The character development over the course of the novel is truly on point and even though he became quite unlikeable for a while, I still found myself attatched to Wade, which is a hard thing for a writer to do and I commend Cline for it.

If you haven’t read this book and you have any kind of interest in dystopian novels or sci fi novels you really should read it. I didn’t expect to love this as much as I did.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

13 thoughts on “Ready Player One by Ernest Cline 

  1. I loved this book, too! This is the first dystopian book that I’ve read that I really enjoyed reading. I love how realistic the world is. I can really imagine alot of those things happening, like you said. I think this book is going to get a reread in 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVED RPO, too. Also unexpected how much I enjoyed it. I feel like a 12-year-old boy every time I recommend it to someone and have to explain the plot, but man it was just so good! I’m glad you enjoyed it, and I’m so excited for the movie to come out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

