You Know Me Well by David Levithan and Nina LaCour

Thank you to netgalley and St. Martin’s Griffin for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

This is going to be a short review as I don’t feel like I have much to say about this. It was really sweet and I enjoyed it so much more than I expected to.

You Know Me Well follows two people who go to the same school but aren’t friends who meet at Pride and decide to be friends after their love lives seem to be sinking.

I tried reading Two Boys Kissing a few months ago and I just couldn’t, so I was a bit wary of David Levithan’s books, but I really liked this. The chapters alternate POVs, which I’m assuming means each writer did a character themselves, however, despite this, it wasn’t obvious when reading that it was cowritten. Everything worked well together and it didn’t feel disjointed at all. Along with that I loved seeing a boy/boy story t the same time as girl/girl it was nice to read.

I read some criticism saying that it felt contrived that Mark and Kate just decided to be friends, but that stuff happens all the time, especially when LGBT stuff is involved. I think I’ve just decided to be friends with people in the past. There’s nothing wrong with it.

This book wasn’t just about relationships it was about kids experiencing life and trying to figure everything out. It felt like their lives were falling apart at the same time as their love lives, and there was some interesting themes in this book.

Overall it was just a sweet read and I’m glad I eventually read it.

Follow me:

Twitter
Goodreads
Instagram

 

One thought on “You Know Me Well by David Levithan and Nina LaCour

Leave a Reply

