The Copper Gauntlet by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

I love the Magisterium world I really do. They’re such fun, quick reads for me.

I don’t know if I would say that I enjoyed this one as much as The Iron Trial, as it was a lot faster paced and there was less about the Magisterium itself. There was a fair bit of world building in the first book and it felt more about the school and the learning whereas this was more about the kids and chasing the bad guy. Which would be fine but it happened over a very short period of time but the whole book is to count towards their second year in the school. I would just really love to see more of their learning being spoken about. Everything felt rushed.

What I thought was adorable was seeing Call’s first run in with romantic feelings towards someone. It was written in a really sweet way, like him being uncomfortable and nervous at the same time and all those wonderful, awkward feelings you feel when you have your first crush.

As with the first book, the writing is seamless, I couldn’t tell who was writing what. The descriptions were perfectly written and the action scenes made me feel like I was in them. I may have seen the “twist” coming but I think it would be pretty obvious to anyone who pays attention.

I’m not going to lie, there are many similarities with Harry Potter, but there are also a lot of differences. It does give me some nice throwback to reading HP for the first time feelings. I am intrigued to see where the rest of the books go as some loose ends were tied up but now there’s so many things that could happen or go wrong.

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

4 thoughts on “The Copper Gauntlet by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

