My Heart & Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

I have mixed feelings towards this book and how it dealt with depression. I really enjoyed the writing but I don’t really know how I feel about the plot.

Aysel wants to kill herself but she isn’t sure whether she can do it alone so she goes on a site to find a partner to commit suicide with. The partner is supposed to make it easier for her to do it but she ends up finding it harder.

Roman (suicide partner) ends up helping Aysel see that she has more to live for, which I’m not so sure of to be honest. On the whole, the story is a bit insta-love, which I don’t mind with things like this because there’s so many strong feelings that it’s easy to get caught up in everything. However, because of the insta-love it feels like Aysel is just suddenly fixed by hanging out with Roman, which isn’t exactly how it works, especially over such a short period of time. But on the opposite side to that, Roman isn’t just instantly fixed.

I disliked that both of them had a “reason” for being depressed and suicidal. It’s not always the case that people have something that sets them off like that, people sometimes just get depressed for no reason other than a chemical imbalance and I wish that had been portrayed a bit in this. Aysel’s reason for being depressed was kind of unbelievable as well.

I’m still in two minds about this and it was a good, easy read, despite the subject material. I would read more books by Warga in the future if she releases more because I enjoyed the way her writing flowed.

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

 

10 thoughts on “My Heart & Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

  1. This kind of sounds like a movie I saw… Though I agree with your thoughts about depression.Even a slight change can set someone off,sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember loving this book back when I read it. At first I wasn’t sure what to feel about it too but as I read on I became more and more emotionally invested. It’s a sad book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

