Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Edit Dec 2016 (spoilers): So there’s been a lot of rumbling about how this book is ableist and stuff and I think that’s probably why I had problems with the end of it, it felt like such a cop out for her to not be allergic to everything, for it to be due to her mum having a severe mental disorder. I would’ve much preferred to  see how the couple got on with their relationship despite Maddie having SCID. I liked this book a lot but it has a lot of problems and if you’d like to read more here is a post about it: http://disabilityinkidlit.com/2015/09/04/review-everything-everything-by-nicola-yoon/

Edit March 2017: here is another review where the reader has a similar illness https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1444235181

Oh man what a wonderful book, a wonderful contemporary book that has so much diversity in it and problems and all that stuff but also made me feel so happy.

Maddy is completely allergic to the world. She can’t leave her house, she can’t meet new people and she has to been home schooled over skype. One day she has some new next door neighbours who intrigue her so much that she wants to leave her house and discover what awaits outdoors, but her mum is completely against it and so Maddy ends up emailing the boy next door late at night.

I loved that the MC was a biracial Asian/African American, like that’s something that you don’t see a lot in novels and it was just great to read. Olly was just wonderful, I need an Olly in my life.

It was a bit insta-love but I mean, when you’re allergic to the world it’s hard to figure out if you like someone or they’re just something new that you’re taken with, so it didn’t bother me so much.

Personally I’m a big fan of online communication in contemporary books, I don’t know why but I love seeing IM and texts and stuff like that, so that being a big part of this really helped my enjoyment.

The ending was unexpected and I’m still not really sure how I feel about it which is why it wasn’t one of my fave reads of the year because I have some unresolved feelings because of the ending.

For a debut novel Everything Everything is great and I will be picking up another Nicola Yoon book because I really loved her writing style, it wasn’t perfect but it was an enjoyable read that showed a lot of potential.

 

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

8 thoughts on “Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. Good points for diversity! I did not know the main character was biracial Asian/African American, this makes another good reason to add this to my bookcase! 🙂 I am intrigued by the ending that left you unsure about what to make of it. Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

