Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

 

This was a cute story about anxiety and being British basically. I haven’t read anything Sophie Kinsella but when I saw she did a YA novel I thought “oooooooooh”.

Audrey has really bad anxiety and has had to take time out of school after a really bad incident. She wears sunglasses all the time because she doesn’t want to look people in the eye and she doesn’t leave the house. Then her mum starts going a bit daft after reading an article about video games ruining your brain and makes Audrey’s brother quit playing video games and things start to change.

Honestly, this book is absolutely hysterical. I don’t know if it’s because it hits a little close to home on the mum wanting to limit internet usage front or what but oh man I was laughing for like 60% of this. There was so many classically British moments that aw I just loved it.

The anxiety element of the story began to be a bit downplayed for the romance really, but the humour really made up for it. And I would say rather than love fixing her anxiety it just helped. She has moments where she thinks she’s better than she is and ends up stunting her recovery and I think it was a really important detail to show that people do have relapses because they push themselves too hard.

This was a really fast read for me, it was easy to read and on top of that half the book was made up of screenplay format which was just so fast. I think I read it in a couple of hours, so if you’re looking for something funny and cute I would recommend it.

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

2 thoughts on “Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Leave a Reply

