City of heavenly fire by Cassandra Clare 

This was honestly such a fantastic end the the series. I felt emotional, happy, exhausted, so many different feelings.

The ending was so different and original to any way this could have ended, or at least from the books I’ve read so far. Of course there was some loopholes that they managed to get themselves out of against all odds but it’s not a YA fantasy novel if that doesn’t happen at the end. There was so many twists and turns that despite knowing how things ended because I am the spoiler queen I was like “omg how are they going to get themselves out of this one?”. And it genuinely felt quite stressful at times.

I was so glad I read the books in publication order because there was so much stuff from The Infernal Devices that I wouldn’t have picked up on at all in COHF if I hadn’t done so. There was so much of it that made me so happy and I was nearly crying in a hotel room in London because of how wonderful it was.

 

I was just so happy with the way things ended but I also loved that through the novel Clare got us used to Emma Carstairs, in preparation for Lady Midnight, I’m really excited to read about the LA institute now.

I really felt like the characters came out of their shells in this. Clary and Jace weren’t obnoxiously whiney about each other and falling apart at the seams. Izzy was bad ass. Simon and Alec finally felt like characters that could hold their own as side characters and weren’t just there for random scenes to add to it.

I honestly don’t know what else there is to say without ruining huge elements of the plot but I’m so glad this ended like this, it was the perfect end novel.

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

4 thoughts on “City of heavenly fire by Cassandra Clare 

Leave a Reply

