Red Rising by Pierce Brown

So many people have been hyping about this book so it was definitely one I knew I wanted to read sometime soon, thankfully my library got me it pretty quickly though they don’t have any of the rest of the trilogy god damn. Also Pierce Brown is fucking hot so yeah.

Red Rising follows Darrow after he loses his wife and decides to break the law so that he is killed. But someone rescues him and he discovers that the government has been lying to them the whole time and Darrow’s people aren’t mining to make Mars liveable, it’s already been liveable for 500 years. So he is changed in body and spirit and enters an education facility where the kids of the highest ranked people on Mars train to become powerful adults.

Whilst I did really like this novel I didn’t love it enough for it to be a favourite. There are a couple of reasons for this: the content is so heavy and I found myself really confused a lot. It’s not a book that you can easily dip in and out of. There’s so damn much going on all the time and there’s so much jargon that I felt I got lost often. I should maybe reread it when it’s not such a busy time at work. The writing is so full as well, I don’t know if that’s the best way to describe it, but it’s so well written, like the descriptions are perfect and you know exactly what is going on. Nothing is filler with this there’s nothing that you can kind of glance over quickly, you have to pay attention to everything going on.

It reminded me a lot of The Hunger Games, of course it did, there’s teenagers and kids killing each other but it was also very different. It was so much worse than The Hunger Games, instead of 26 kids trying to kill each other there are 1000 and it goes on for months and it’s considered a form of education. At times I just found it so hard to read, so hard to get through some really tough situations.

One of the big things I thought Brown did really well was showing how Darrow changed throughout the novel. Darrow went from naive to smart and calculated, The Institute (where all these children are killing each other) trains him to become a mean, cunning man rather than the boy he was before. The way Darrow loses himself occasionally and realises that the people he’s becoming friends with are part of the society he is aiming to destroy is described perfectly and you really feel for him, you understand his confusion and frustration.

The world building is incredible, I really felt like I could imagine the world they were in perfectly. I got a good image of the city, of the mining community, of The Institute. It’s not often that a writer can build a world like this.

I’ll eventually pick up the next two books and finish this series but I think it will take me a while because this was so difficult to get through and I can’t imagine how the next 2 books will go.

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

7 thoughts on “Red Rising by Pierce Brown

  1. Yeah, I get the comparison some people make between this book and The Hunger Games, but if you continue with the series, you will see it’s nothing like it all – it becomes more like a space opera a la Star Wars. Also, The Institute is where the best of the best kids go to become the elite warriors rather than just a tool used by the government to keep the lower classes in check. I really hope you stick with this series, as it just gets better and better! Red Rising is really just the tip of the iceberg. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wouldn’t say it was difficult in a bad way, it was just a hard read and felt a lot more like an adult novel than a young adult one because of how heavy it was you know? When I read I tend to kind of skip every 3rd word or something like that, I’m a bit of a slow speed reader basically butI found I couldn’t do that with this I had to pay attention all the time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

