The Diverse Books tag

Thank you to Emily for tagging me! I don’t think I’m going to do too well with this as I haven’t read many diverse books, not because I don’t want to, I just haven’t yet.

THE RULES:

  1. The Diverse Books Tag is a bit like a scavenger hunt. I will task you to find a book that fits a specific criteria and you will have to show us a book you have read or want to read.
  2. If you can’t think of a book that fits the specific category, then I encourage you to go look for one. A quick Google search will provide you with many books that will fit the bill. (Also, Goodreads lists are your friends.) Find one you are genuinely interested in reading and move on to the next category.
  3. Everyone can do this tag, even people who don’t own or haven’t read any books that fit the descriptions below.

promandotherhazards400

FIND A BOOK STARRING A LESBIAN CHARACTER.

Prom and Other Hazards by Jamie Sullivan

51dvlcrs0gl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

FIND A BOOK WITH A MUSLIM PROTAGONIST.

I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

865

FIND A BOOK SET IN LATIN AMERICA.

The Alchemist by Paul Coelho, embarrassingly this has been on my TBR since Joe Jonas said it was his favourite book in like 2009. I also would love to read a bunch of Gabriel Garcia Marquez books.

the_iron_trial_cover-265x400

FIND A BOOK ABOUT A PERSON WITH A DISABILITY.

The Iron Trial by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black. The MC has a really gammy leg caused by an incident when he was a baby meaning he can’t run or walk too fast and he struggles with it a lot as the book goes on.

13042002

FIND A SCIENCE-FICTION OR FANTASY BOOK WITH A POC PROTAGONIST.

Legend by Marie Lu, Day is half Mongolian.

detectiveagency

FIND A BOOK SET IN (OR ABOUT) ANY COUNTRY IN AFRICA.

The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith

I read this a long time ago I can barely remember it but I wanted to read them all after my dad bought them and they had such colourful covers.

6881eed3f57f35152cae7b85252d784d

FIND A BOOK WRITTEN BY AN INDIGENOUS OR NATIVE AUTHOR.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

life-of-pi2

FIND A BOOK SET IN SOUTH ASIA (AFGHANISTAN, INDIA, PAKISTAN, SRI LANKA, ETC.).

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

cover-for-everything-everything15749186

FIND A BOOK WITH A BIRACIAL PROTAGONIST.

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon, the main character is half Japanese half African-American. Or To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, the MC is half Korean half white.

george-small

FIND A BOOK STARRING A TRANSGENDER CHARACTER OR ABOUT TRANSGENDER ISSUES. 

George by Alex Gino

I tag:

Amanda @ hangingwithamanda

Klinta @ bookowly

Kourtni @ kourtnireads

theorangutanlibrarian

Grace @ kimmie.gg

May @ sunsetsandbookfests

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

9 thoughts on “The Diverse Books tag

Leave a Reply

