The Haunted Pub by Melanie Tushmore

Thank you to Netgalley and Less Than Three Press for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

This was an incredibly weird, funny, over the top read for me. I felt like I should’ve hated it but I kind of loved it.

Fizz is kicked out of his home by his parents after they decided they’d had enough of his depressed self (fucking terrible parenting). So his brother gets him situated with their cousin in a pub in Brighton. Gradually with the help of the guys who all live in the pub and their friends Fizz begins to come out of his skin, until everything goes wrong.

I honestly don’t know what I was expecting with this book, it was hilarious until things went really strange and where it was supposed to be scary it was just really odd and confusing.

I found myself pulling for all the different couples. Though I do question the reality of there being 3 different same sex couples in the one work place, but it is Brighton so… I especially adored the relationship between Fizz and Ash because Ash never pushed Fizz despite him being so incredibly shy and awkward.

There’s a sex scene at about 90% of the book which I just found really out of the blue and jarring. There’s no other sexual stuff in the book like this and it kind of made me feel like “was that necessary”. I’m no stranger to literotica but it just felt kind of shoved in there (ha ha ha ha ha ha).

The “haunted” part of the book started off really funny, the poltergeist was messing with people in a way that I really enjoyed and I found really different. But then things go a lot more sinister with the ghost and like I said earlier I found it really weird. The way things were described by Tushmore was just a bit off. It seemed like she was trying to do something different with the whole poltergeist thing whilst trying to not go completely off base. I honestly just found it weird to read.

Overall this was a fun, fast read for me. Not the best thing I’ve ever read but I’d consider reading something else by this author.

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

3 thoughts on “The Haunted Pub by Melanie Tushmore

  1. “(fucking terrible parenting)” “it just felt kind of shoved in there (ha ha ha ha ha ha)” 😂😂 I’m laughing so hard oh my god.

    I’m strangely intrigued by this despite the obvious things wrong with it that’ll annoy me (like the terrible parenting). Mostly because I’m weak for anything “haunted”, haha. Great review Kirsty! I think I might add it to my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

