Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

This book was one of the most hyped books I’d heard of as of late so I was very glad when I managed to get my hands on a Galley of it. Thanks to netgalley and Orion Children’s Books for sending me a copy in return for an honest review.

The world of Wolf by Wolf is one where the Nazis and the axis powers won the second world war. I’m a huge fan of history and I studied the period of time from the first world war to the second world war a lot in school so this book sounded right up my street. Yael is a girl who had once been in a concentration camp and had been tested on to the point where she got an ability to change the way she looks, but she managed to escape and now is part of the resistance and she has been given the mission to kill Hitler.

I’ll be honest and say that the beginning is quite slow, which is often the case with the first book in a series, so I found it kind of hard to get into it but there was always something happening that had me wanting to keep reading. And let’s be honest, it’s based in a world where Hitler won, that’s got to be incredibly hard to build a world around so I didn’t mind that it was kind of slow to start.

What really struck me with this book was how well researched the Nazi regime was. Everyone talks about how bad the concentration camps were and how people got crated in their hundreds in trains and were murdered in cold blooded ways, but what isn’t often mentioned is the experimenting that was done on people.

The book had flashbacks to the different people have have been in and out of Yael’s life and how they made her the person she is and sometimes writers don’t put flashbacks in well with the rest of the story but I felt like Graudin interspersed these chapters very well and I really liked learning about these people.

Part of Yael’s mission includes her using skinshifting abilities to pretend to be another girl for a very long time and Graudin writes of Yael’s confusion over whether the people she’s in contact with love the personality or the person in a way that really makes you feel for her. She connects with people which you know that inevitably will end up not working out because she isn’t who they think she is.

Wolf by Wolf is, at the bare bones of it, a story about relationships in a fucked up world. It’s about how people continue to show their kindness despite everything around them being a disaster and there was points in this book that I felt really touched, knowing that this wasn’t specific to this book, that people really do look out for each other when times are hard. The story ends on a huge cliffhanger and I desperately need the sequel because even though I found it hard to get into initially I really began to care for the characters.

 

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

 

 

5 thoughts on “Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

  1. huh, that sounds like something I’d either love or loath. I study history and I hate it when the Nazi-regime is over-dramatised. Actually, the experimenting on people was one of the first things I’ve learned about concentration camps in high school, so maybe it just depends on your teacher/reading material? You might also enjoy «Look Who’s Back» where Hitler is coming back to life, it’s a brilliant book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

