Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

I know a lot of people have a ship when it comes to this trilogy and it can be quite polarising, but I honestly could not pick between Will or Jem. There is a lot of angst in the book community over love triangles and I completely get the rage, they’re a trope that has been done to death, but when a book gets it right, it is so good and The Infernal Devices is one of these books.

I was very emotional reading this, I cried quite a few times. Not even just at sad bits but at times where I just knew things were ending and things were tying up and I just adored it. I loved how well everything tied up actually. There were loose ends but not major loose ends, enough that stuff can be mentioned in the rest of the books in this series that if you’ve read this you can pick up on them.

The Infernal Devices is by far better than The Mortal Instruments and I wish this was the one that had been adapted, though an adaption that was obviously better than TMI adaptions have been. Clare really fleshed out Magnus in this series, in a way that helps you understand how exactly he was living before he found Magnus in TMI. I’m going to read The Bane Chronicles after I read City of Heavenly Fire and I’m really excited to see how he is through every time in his life.

I won’t say much about it because obviously I don’t want to spoil anyone, and I try to post reviews that don’t contain any spoilers for the book, but the ending for this book was so perfect. For a person who didn’t really have a solid ship, the ending was exactly what I could have asked for and I was so happy about it.

All in all I adored this series, and the ending to it was just wonderful and if you’ve only ever read TMI but not TID what the hell are you doing? And if you’ve read some of TMI and didn’t enjoy it very much then try reading TID because it’s so different and so damn good.

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

 

4 thoughts on “Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

  1. I wasn’t that into The Mortal Instruments (I think I read up until book four? Every now and again I feel like I should get back into it but then I remember I can’t be bothered…), but I have heard nothing but good things about The Infernal Devices. Maybe I’ll give them a go sometime… There is less of them. That makes me a lot more likely to get into it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

