In the Hope of Memories by Olivia Rivers

Thank you to netgalley and Red Sparrow Press for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

In the Hope of Memories follows 4 kids on a scavenger hunt set by their dead friend. None of the kids had met prior to this hunt and learn things about each other and themselves.

This is the kind of plot you would expect in a John Green novel, however I found it generally more satisfying than most John Green novels I’ve read. This leaves you with a feeling of solution and that things are going to work out in the long run, whereas a lot of John Green novels just kind of end or have really irritating endings.

Every character has a completely different voice and it reads really well however I found it a very strange decision to have Sam’s chapters in completely lower case and the way everything in general was edited for them. I understand that it’s to show they were so much more immersed in online jargon but it was just really jarring. I cannot stand when things are completely lower case. Kali was honestly just the worst person and I thought it was great that Rivers showed that people sometimes aren’t likeable and still have problems.

Each POV character has a different problem and they’re all so well developed, you really get a feel for each person and how they came to have the personalities they have and how they lead the lives they lead. I found it really important that Sam was just Sam and that the other characters used they/them pronouns. Aiden was written really well, his OCD was written perfectly, the anxiety that comes from things being “wrong” when you have mental illness.

I wasn’t sure how I felt about this after the first couple of chapters but I’m glad I read it because it was different and a good read and it was nice to read something that didn’t have a current romance aspect.

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

One thought on “In the Hope of Memories by Olivia Rivers

Leave a Reply

