The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | Hype or Like Friday

The book of the month for June for Hype or Like Fridays (goodreads group!) is The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater which I had started reading just before it was chosen so that worked out very well.

I normally write a summary/plot description for books when I review them if its the first in a series, but I honestly can’t even begin to describe this. It’s just a very strange book with magic and psychics and private school boys.

I’ve heard a lot of people talking about The Raven Cycle and whilst I enjoyed this first instalment I felt a slight bit disappointed as this felt like more of a set up for the rest of the books. Not that that’s a bad thing but it stopped it being something I truly loved, however, because it was a set up book Steifvater did a lot of teasing so I really want to read the rest of them.

Not only was there a lot of plot set up there was a lot of character development, it felt like this book was about getting used to the characters and understanding them as people before we really get into how strange the rest of the series is going to be.

Steifvater did a great job of giving enough information about the fantasy elements in this book without overloading you. There’s insight into the bizarre world without over confusing the reader, just enough to leave you feeling perturbed but not enough to stop you enjoying it. It really reminded me of how Haruki Murakami’s books make me feel.

The characters are so strange as well as the content being strange, but I felt really connected to them. Though at times I really did not get them. Things are explained about their motives but I still don’t understand.They’re just so different.

I liked this book but I really feel like I will like the next books in the series more. I also felt like whilst this book was hyped up the hype did not prepare me at all for what this would really be like. There is so much hype with not a lot of explanation.

1414478

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

8 thoughts on “The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | Hype or Like Friday

  1. I’m still reading this one. So far, I’m not loving it like I thought I would. I think my problem is the flipping of third person POVs. I’m more into first person narrative, so that’s probably part of the issue, but I really didn’t get the dialogue between the boys in the beginning chapters. It seems pointless to me some of the stuff they’re talking about, and I’m having a hard time keeping track of who’s who and what they look like. Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah the book is really weird, I feel like once you get used to it it’s a lot more enjoyable but it is definitely very strange to begin with. I prefer multiple POVs so that was fine for me and the dialogue was weird it just kind of throws you in the deep end with the boys

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like multiple POV in first person, and I liked the way GRRM did it with Game of Thrones in third person, but I’m having a hard time connecting with the boys. I’ll keep plugging away until I finish this one. I hope I’m not the minority on this book because I really want to like it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Agreed! I didn’t fall in love with it while reading it. It took too dang long for the plot to actually start happening, and by then I was already bored. I’ve heard that the rest of the series just gets better and better, so I’m planning on getting to the Dream Thieves at least before the end of the year is up.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I felt like I was forcing myself to read it, so I actually DNF’d around the 75% mark. I’ll just go to the ReCaptains and see what I missed out on lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

