Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

I started reading this just before I went on holiday, which was a mistake because I just wanted to read it all the time which was a bit of a struggle when I was doing 12 hour days at Disney and Universal.

After the events of the first book I knew things were going to become a lot more dangerous and complicated for Tessa, Jem and Will, both in their relationships with each other and with their lives. You can really tell how well thought out the series is when things happen in this book which relate back to events in Clockwork Angel that didn’t even really seem relevant. You see how Mortmain has been preparing for things for so long and the more you learn about him the more sinister he seems.

I know a lot of people don’t enjoy love triangles on principle and I can be put off a book because of a love triangle, but if it’s well done then it doesn’t bother me at all. This series has an incredibly well done love triangle. I can’t even pick a side because I love both the guys and I can tell that whatever happens I will have my heart broken in the third book.

We get to learn a lot more about each of the characters in this book, Tessa becomes a lot more confident in her abilities and as a person on her own, we get to see more of Jem and how wonderful he is, and we finally find out why Will acts the way he does. I don’t even want to talk about how upsetting Will’s back story is, I just want to give him a big hug.

There’s so much Magnus compared to the rest of the books in the Shadowhunters verse than we’ve seen before and I was so happy to read the parts which featured him, he’s so a wonderful, loveable character.

I can’t believe that I’m finally getting towards the end of the shadowhunters books. I don’t know what I’m going to do when I get to Lady Midnight, it’ll be weird having to wait for a new book.

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

8 thoughts on “Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

