Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

I’d heard from quite a few people that The Infernal Devices were better than The Mortal Instruments so I was interested to see how I felt about this book and it did not disappoint. This was by far better than the first 2 books of TMI and a bit better than the third book.

Set in the same world as the Mortal Instruments but 120 years prior and in London Tessa Gray arrives in the country after losing her aunt. She was sent a ticket by her only living relative left, her brother, only to be kidnapped as soon as she arrives at the harbour.After being rescued by Shadowhunters she finds that her kidnapping was part of a much greater and sinister plan.

I really loved the setting, I’m always weak for Victorian era, there’s something about it that I just adore. Clare seemed a lot more eager to be descriptive of London, I don’t know whether its because she just assumed people knew about New York when writing TMI or she felt like it would be better to describe London more fully as it is set in the late 1800s but either way it worked so much better for me.

I just loved the times when Charlotte proved that women were more than just “the fair sex” and had Tessa questioning everything she had been taught. And that the guys, like Will and Jem, were more confused about her ignorance than ย believing that there was no place for women fighting demons.

Will is a funny old character isn’t he? I couldn’t really get to grips with him as a person. at times I loved him and then sometimes I was just like “what is wrong with you?!”. Jessamine is an absolute hoot too, what an absolute knob. She’s such a prat that you have to laugh at her because she’s so absolutely ridiculous.

There are a fair amount of parallels between TMI and TID, however I’ve found them more enjoyable so far in this. Like Clary and Tessa are both thrown into the world of shadowhunters having no idea that they aren’t human, but whilst I find Clary to be quite whiney and annoying I found Tessa so much more likeable. I feel like this is probably caused by the evolution of Clare’s writing more than anything, as obviously the more you write the better you get.

This is where I should be writing a wrap up paragraph but I feel like I say the same thing every time in my wrap ups and I hate it. I’m reading City of Lost Souls next in this world so hopefully Clary is less annoying but I won’t count on it.

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

4 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

