The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski | Hype or Like Friday

I haven’t really taken part in the regular Hype or Like (Goodreads group!) posts this month because I’ve been completely buried by exam revision but I was happy enough to add this book to my TBR this month to read along with Hype or Like as I already wanted to read it anyway so it was win win.

Kestrel is the daughter of a general of a huge empire, she lives in one of the captured cities and is being groomed by her father to enter the military like him. One days whilst at a market she takes notice of a slave and bids on him at the auction however this slave is more than meets the eye and part of a much grander scheme than one can imagine.

I didn’t expect this book to be what it was, everything about it is reading people for lies and truths. I had heard it was good, obviously as it is a hyped up book, however I didn’t really know much about it. I went in expecting it to be some sort of forbidden love book that centered around that and had a few fantasy elements in the background, but it wasn’t like that at all. There was forbidden love but it was mainly focussed on lies and strategising around what Kestrel knew of people and what she expected to do next.

Whilst I liked Kestrel for the most part I did find it annoying sometimes how over confident she was, I did really like that she wasn’t your classic simpering flower. Kestrel understands people and knows how to work them to the way she wants or can work around what she knows to happen, I found it a really interesting and different mechanic. I adored how she couldn’t really figure out how Arin worked, how she always thought she had the edge but she really didn’t, it made their relationship fun to read.

I occasionally had problems with the world building, it was explained quite well when it came to the politics of the world but I couldn’t really get to grips with what it was like geographically, at times I imagined it to be like the middle east and then other time I imagined it more like Europe and I couldn’t really get my head around it. However, the descriptives were very beautiful at times of the smaller details.

Can we talk about how the dress on the cover is absolute goals? I would love to have a dress like that for my upcoming grad ball, its so pretty.

I can’t wait to see what happens next after the way things were left off, I can tell there’s a lot of drama to come for both the kingdom and also for the relationship between Kestrel and Arin, so once I’m off my self imposed book buying ban I will definitely be picking up the next 2 books.

1414478

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

17 thoughts on “The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski | Hype or Like Friday

      1. I’m the complete opposite. I have zero patience. I’m kind of the worst in that regard. I used to stick with the books, then found it was putting me in massive reading slumps. A blogger friend asked me why I didn’t just DNF them. That’s when I started setting them aside.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I have this on my Kindle because it was on sale a little while ago, and I can’t help but be curious about it, even though I often don’t read series. The political maneuvering does sound interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I tend toward the literary and contemporary/realistic side of things, so I don’t think I’ll have a problem with boringness. I haven’t read YA spec fic in a long time, so it’ll be interesting to see if I can finally get a little bit into the genre! I’ve heard that the second book is really good and improves upon the shortcomings of the first.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you liked it 🙂 The world building did seem a little confusing at times. If the strategy part had come earlier, I might have pushed a little further, but I am not sure. I really could not understand or connect to Kestrel.
    I love the color of the dress on the cover.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

