City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

First things first, this was definitely the best book in the series that I’ve read so far. The world building was much better, the character’s have finally found their place in the story and the narrative seemed more settled and less erratic that it had in the last book.

I’m going to start with the world building. Obviously in the first 2 books everything took place in New York, so in terms of world building it was mainly just learning the rules of the shadowhunter world and how things worked whereas in City of Glass we actually get to see what Idris is like and what the shadowhunter’s are like in their natural environment and I felt like I was really finally getting to grips with everything in the world. Whilst I would’ve liked to have seen Idris before now I understand that there was the need to slowly immerse the reader in the world like Clary is. When I was reading the scenes in Idris I was imagining it like the Bayonetta world (which is a great game and if you haven’t played it what the hell are you doing).

584795-bayonetta_2

Jace is so funny. Simon is so funny. Alec is so funny. Magnus is so fantastic. Clary is such a Mary Sue. I found myself so frustrated by Clary at the beginning of this book, I know we find out that her powers are actually caused by something but she still feels like such a Mary Sue regardless of that. I love Magnus and Alec so much, there’s a few scenes in this book that had me grinning ear to ear because of them and I can 100% understand why they’re such a hyped up couple because they are so good together.

Clare’s writing was definitely better in this instalment of the series. When jumping between different character’s points of view I didn’t feel nearly as uncomfortable about it as I did in the first book, it felt so much smoother.

So whilst this book still wasn’t perfect for me thanks to Clary, I definitely liked it more than the first 2 so I’m intrigued to see what happens next.

I’ve been told that it’s best to read the world in publication order so I’m going to be reading Clockwork Angel next from this series/world/whatever and everyone has told me that The Infernal Devices is a much better series then The Mortal Instruments so I’m excited.

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

4 thoughts on “City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

  1. yay so glad you’re enjoying the series- love that image, but sadly I don’t play video games (I know, I know, what am I doing with my life? :p ) And personally I love the Clockwork series even more than mortal instruments- I hope you enjoy it too!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

