City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

(Cheeky reminder that I’m doing the Race for Life on Sunday if you would like to donate you can click here)

City of Ashes, for me, was a lot better than City of Bones, maybe because less of the plot has been in the adaptations, although that doesn’t really ruin things for me with most books as I do look up spoilers for most things because, as I’ve said in the past, I’m a terrible person.

Valentine is truly beginning to feel like a real villain, there was more Magnus than the previous book and Clary and Jace were more annoying. I really just want to know why Clary and Jace are the main characters because god damn they are so whiny. I care so much more about Simon, Magnus, Alec and Isabel.

Magnus and Alec are clearly sneaking around in this and I loved the completely unsubtle way they are doing so, I honestly don’t understand how the other characters didn’t realise sooner than they did. The bit where he obviously had a hicky but was like “uh yeah I fell over on my neck” had me in hysterics.

The characters were definitely settling into their roles in this book, there was some moments that actually made me laugh out loud, which isn’t easy. I completely understand what people are talking about when they complain about how the characterisation isn’t right in the adaptations because the characters aren’t funny enough.

There was quite a few times where Jace was really annoyed by Clary not wanting to be with him and it was just really frustrating, what person who has just met a person is ready to ignore the fact that they believe they are siblings in favour of running away together, I mean really?

The narrative jumped around a bit more than the previous book and sometimes it was quite jarring, especially when there was big action scenes happening and it just kind of took me out of what was happening and left me confused.

All in all I’m really interested to see what’s going to happen in this world and with these characters after this, I’m already reading City of Glass which I’ve heard isn’t as good as the first 2 books but hopefully I can just power through it.

Follow me:

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

One thought on “City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

