Truth or Date by Portia MacKintosh 

Thank you to NetGalley and Carina for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

This book was funny and cute; I definitely wasn’t expecting to enjoy it as much as I did.

Truth or Date begins with our protagonist, Ruby, having a sex about her male flatmate, Nick, who she hates. Gradually after a few more of these dreams she begins to fall for him and she hatches a plan for him to like her back and dump his incredibly boring and obnoxious girlfriend.

This was the kind of romance book I love, like Always the Bridesmaid by Lindsey Kelk it doesn’t take itself too seriously and the plot went in silly and fun ways. The characters were so fantastic and even though it’s a fairly short book there was some great character development.

Truth or Date is set in Leeds, a place I have been to quite a few times so I found it nice when I recognised a few names of places and it felt quite comfortable to read because of this. There was a lot of mention of dating apps and sites which I am no stranger to and some of the things said about the dating app culture was hilarious and insanely relatable.

I’m glad I requested this book on netgalley as I doubt it would’ve even came up on my radar otherwise and I recommend people read this if they love a lighthearted, funny romance book. And It’s only £2.99 on Amazon.

One thought on “Truth or Date by Portia MacKintosh 

Leave a Reply

