Passenger by Alexandra Bracken | Hype or Like Fridays

Thank you to NetGalley and Hachette Children’s Group for a copy of this book in return for an honest review.

Passenger is the Hype or Like book of the month for April which was fantastic as it happened to appear on NetGalley for British reader’s a couple of days after I joined the group and it was on my TBR. Hype or Like is a weekly meme hosted by Larkin @ wonderfilledreads Britt @ Geronimo Reads, and Jill @ Rant and Rave About Books based on hyped up books. There is a Goodreads group which you can join in on where we read a hyped up book every month.

Passenger follows Etta as she journeys through a portal to another time. She discovers that her mother has been hiding her past from her and we find out that Etta is a person with the ability to use said portals to travel to certain places and points in time.

This was released at the beginning of the year and to begin with had a lot of good reviews, but gradually the average goodreads rating bean to plummet. A lot of the complaints I’ve seen about this book is that the beginning in quite slow, however I thought what Bracken did with the start of this book was quite smart; everything was quite confusing which I found to be a good technique to show the disorientation Etta feels.

For the majority of the book we follow two main characters: Etta and Nicholas. I’m interested to see what happens to Etta in the rest of the series because for most of Passenger I found her whiney, which is obviously understandable, her whole life has just changed. I adored Nicholas though, you can see his strength of character fro, how he was in a position of power as a African American man in the 1700s that would’ve been very difficult, regardless of parentage. And can I just say how great it was to be reading about an interracial couple.

One thing I did find a bit jarring was the relationship between Etta and Nicholas. Whilst I liked the building tension between the pair, when they eventually bridge that gap it just felt really random and sudden. Then it felt like everything all at once and they were madly in love despite knowing each other less than a week.

The ending was really unexpected and I’m really uncertain where it’s going to go so I’m really excited to see what Bracken has in mind for us readers.

1414478

For me this book was worth the hype, yeah I had a few issues but it was well paced for he most part and intriguing, the time travel mechanics in it were really different to the standard and the ending, whilst it ends on a cliffhanger has me really excited to read the rest of the series.

 

3 thoughts on “Passenger by Alexandra Bracken | Hype or Like Fridays

  1. Great Review! I was a bit disappointed with this book due to the odd pacing and I totally agree with you on the relationship between Etta and Nic. It was too sudden and I wish there was more chemistry between them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

