City of Bones by Cassandra Clare 

On my journey of catching up on YA novels I knew that The Mortal Instruments were one of the book series that was going to be one of the first I needed to read because it seems like everyone has read them and it was a concept that really interested me. City of Bones did not disappoint.

It’s unlikely, but in case you don’t know what City of Bones is about: Clary’s life has just turned upside down. Her mum has gone missing, she’s just discovered that there’s more to life than meets the eye and a great evil is resurging.I have watched City of Bones the film and watched the Shadowhunters show so I kind of had a vague idea what this would be like. Obviously the adaptations are different to the book but I knew what to expect of the world, which actually made me more excited to read this actually.

The one thing that had held me back about reading this series is that I’m a fanfiction enthusiast, I’ve been interested in fanfiction, both reading and writing, since 2007. And what was the first fandom I was interested in fanfiction for? Harry Potter. I knew long before I realised that she wrote these books that Cassie Clare had a slightly unsavoury past in the HP fic fandom so when I found out I wanted to stay far away. But I kept being lured back. I know it’s not like she’s exactly Orson Scott Card but I’m aware that she’s not exactly the best person out there. However, I buy most of my books used on the amazon marketplace because I am a student who has 2 trips abroad to pay for so I’m not exactly giving her my money which makes me feel better about the whole thing.

I did really enjoy City of Bones though, as much as I am loath to say it. I liked the characters, I liked the world building, and I liked the writing style. So much so that I’ve bought 3 more of the Shadowhunters books (I was told the best way to read them is in publication order so I ordered City of Ashes, City of Glass and Clockwork Angel).

The dialogue for the most part was quite funny, there was definitely moments where I thought to myself “really Clary, really?” but that wasn’t too often. It did occasionally feel like there were too many one-liners and witty comments, that the characters were too quick to snap back at each other with something funny.

Clary was kind of whiney and annoying but what do you expect from a 15 year old girl whose mother has just gone missing and her world has been turned upside down. I’m excited to read the rest of the series and find out more about the secondary characters because I’ve been told that they are the true stars of the series, especially Magnus.

There was one chapter that is just Luke telling his background to Clary and it’s literally all dialogue with no speech marks or anything and it felt really jarring compared to the rest of the book, and I don’t really understand why it was handled in that way.

But anyway I’m intrigued to see where things go in City of Ashes. I’ve looked up a lot of spoilers because I like spoilers (I know, weirdo) so I know a lot of stuff but I want to see how it all happens. I always look up spoilers though, I’m one of those people who loves to read the last page when I’m halfway through. The only time a spoiler has ever put me off was Allegiant and I’ve never read the book because of it, but I’m honestly glad I didn’t.

 

5 thoughts on “City of Bones by Cassandra Clare 

Leave a Reply

