Hype or Like Fridays: Top 10 Hyped-Up Books

This is a brand new weekly meme hosted by Larkin @ wonderfilledreads Britt @ Geronimo Reads, and Jill @ Rant and Rave About Books based on hyped up books. There is a Goodreads group which you can join in on where we read a hyped up book every month. This month is Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. I’m quite excited about this group as I’ve never been part of a discussion/reading group.

RULES:

  • Answer the weekly discussion topic.
  • Discuss your chosen hyped book of the week.
  • Optional: Talk about your progress on the BOTM.

My top 10 most hyped books on my TBR :

1. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

20983362

I thought I would include this as it is this months book and I acquired a galley of this from netgalley the other day which means I can actually participate in this month’s reading.

2. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

24807186

A lot of people have been talking about this book and again I managed to get a galley of this on netgalley so I shall be reading it soon. The concept of it really interests me as I am a huge history nerd and was recently in Berlin and got to see a lot of history to do with the Nazis and the Third Reich.

3. When We Collided by Emery Lord

27235365

Absolutely everyone seems to be talking about this book so I had to add it to my TBR, this cover is absolutely gorgeous too, kind of like a Pollock piece but with brighter colours.

4. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

9969571

Another book I’ve seen being spoken about, this deals with someone being very involved in a virtual world and that concept is pretty interesting to me.

5. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

256683

I’ve watched the show and film and somehow have not read this series yet, I’ll just blame uni. I’m currently reading City of Bones though so I’ll get through them all soon!

6. A Court of Thornes and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

I adore Sarah J. Maas’ writing so I’m going to read this pretty soon I think. I managed to get this for £1.99 on iBooks the other day so I think I’ll save it for when I go to Florida as I don’t want to have too much book weight so I’m trying to save up my ebooks to read then.

7. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

15507958

Obviously everyone is talking about this book right now as the movie is coming out soon and I will probably get around to reading this but it isn’t pressing right now.

8. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

12954620

I’ve seen quite a lot of hype for this on goodreads and book tube so I added it to my TBR as I love high fantasy books so I’m excited to see what this is like.

9. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905

I know, it’s 2016 and I still haven’t read fangirl, it’s shocking. But I will soon, promise. I’m sure I will hold it near and dear to my heart as I have spent the past 9/10 years of my life reading and writing fanfiction.

10. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

27774758

A lot of people were speaking about this last year and how good it was, I don’t know much about this book but it’s in my TBR, I will probably read it.

 

Have you read any of these books? Were they worth the hype?

15 thoughts on “Hype or Like Fridays: Top 10 Hyped-Up Books

  1. Great choices!! I’ve read quite a few of those, so: City of Bones I just finished and I ended up really enjoying – there is a huge amount of paranormal creatures in it though which was almost too much. Wolf by Wolf was BRILLIANT and the novella that came out in March was perfect – I really hope you enjoy it! Falling Kingdoms, omg, just, yes. An Ember in the Ashes really surprised me with how much I LOVED it and obviously ACOTAR was brilliant haha.

    Whew, basically, the hype was DEFINITELY worth it for these books!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’ve got some great choices! Ready Player One and ACOTAR are the faves on your list. I really really enjoyed both! An Ember in the Ashes is good too but it didn’t blow me away like it did for some. I think that might’ve been because I read it right after Golden Son and nothing could measure up to that book at that moment haha. 😊 Thanks for being a part of Hype or Like Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great choices! We have a couple in common 🙂 When We Collided and Passenger also made it to my list. I read Me Before You because of all the hype, I felt I was missing out on something, I felt excluded due to the fact I did not know what everyone was talking about! I am planning to read Ready Player One because I heard great things about it and the story sounds great. I really hope this one is worth the hype!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah Wolf By Wolf, Court of Thorns and roses,Ready player one and me before you are all on my tbr! I’ve only read Falling Kingdoms (which I loved) and Ember in the ashes (I’ve got to be the only person on the planet that didn’t like that :/ ) great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Why did I forget to include Ready Player One on my list! Holy Crap. It wasn’t bad, but I just didn’t think it was as great as everyone said it was. Throwing tons of pop culture references wouldn’t make a book great. The plot was mediocre and the characters weren’t too likeable. Meeeh. I am pretty excited for the movie though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually, an anime plot is better than this book. Everything about it is so generic and over-used. I wish there was more to it than just throwing a bunch of pop culture references here and there. It’s cool, I love pop culture, but only if its done right in the book.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

