To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before follows Lara Jean through her Junior year in school after her sister has left to go to university in Scotland. A box of letters she wrote to all the boys she’s had a crush on get sent to said crushes, including her sister’s ex boyfriend. Thus begins a series of situations that Lara Jean had never imagined herself to end up in.

This book was adorable, in only a way YA contemporary romances can be. I read this in one sitting on my train home from uni for the holidays, it was a very easy and enjoyable read and I’ve already ordered the second book.

Lara Jean is a very loveable character, and I really enjoyed that she was biracial, it’s nice to see someone in a book with a stated ethnicity who isn’t white as snow. As we follow her story she comes into her own and goes from a shadow of her older sister, Margot, into an independent young woman, capable of taking risks that she wouldn’t have dreamed of when Margot was still living with her. Whilst the book is a romance book, I think the more important aspect of it was Lara Jean finding herself as a person.

I really enjoyed the way this book was written, little snippets to parts of Lara Jean’s childhood and moments in her past were interwoven seamlessly with the current timeline and were nice and whimsical.

Personally, I found Josh really damn annoying, I get that he was really confused over Margot leaving, but it was like he couldn’t differentiate between the Song girls and he was just ugh. I liked Peter though, he was really well written and his relationship with Lara Jean was just cute.

I’m really excited to see what happens in the second book.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

  1. I loved this book! I read it on the train home from uni too, back when I was still studying.

    I think it’s such a clever one. The romance is totally sweet, but I also feel like the narrative explores all sorts of more serious issues. The sequel does it even more. I hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

