Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

THIS BOOK HAD ME SO STRESSED. This instalment in the series was even more thrilling than the first book and I genuinely felt scared at some parts. Maas writes the action so well I felt so embroiled in it and I has no idea what could happen next.

First things first, I’m really not certain how I feel about the love triangle. I feel like Celaena and Chaol are who are meant to be together, and I feel like they could be good together, but my love for Dorian is making it hard for me to accept the pairing. Dorian is my little baby and I don’t want him to be hurt.
Every single person in this book has secrets, and so many unexpected things happened. Normally I’m quite good at guessing what’s going to happen next in books, but not in Crown of Midnight and I have to commend Maas for that, it’s quite hard to surprise me in books.

Maas’ writing in Crown of Midnight is so addicting, I could not put the book down, I even read in a lecture. Her characterisation is so incredibly good, the characters are so believable. They all do questionable things and sometimes you find yourself not liking them for periods of time. Celaena has such infuriating moments in the book, but not to the point where you love her any less. Her intentions make sense eventually but I often found myself yelling “what are you doing?”. No one is contrived in this series, they all show themselves to make mistakes like humans do, no one is perfect.

I honestly love this series so much already. I’m so excited to read the next 2 books that are out. I’m sorry but my blog isn’t going to have much variance over the next week because I only want to read these books and can’t think of reading anything else. The ending of this book had me so excited that I had to take a sleeping pill because I knew I wouldn’t be able to sleep otherwise.

7 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I just finished re-reading this series and loved every moment of it again! If you think this one makes you stay awake be prepared for the next 2! Great review can’t wait to see what you think of the next book!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

