Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I knew this would be the first book I had to read in my adventure to read all the latest YA books because every single person on book tube loves it. It did not disappoint and I am firmly on the hype train.

I was hooked from the word go, and honestly couldn’t believe that Maas started writing this at the age of 16. It’s probably one of my favourite books I’ve read in a long time.

When I was a kid I would read by torchlight after my parents told me to turn my light off so that they couldn’t see if I was awake. This book is a book I would willingly read by torch if I had to because I just could not put it down. I’d ordered the other 3 books in the series this morning before I’d even finished this one because I was enjoying this one so much.

Despite having a 9am lecture this morning I was still reading this book at 1am and had to force myself to put it down so I could actually get some sleep. This was not an easy task, considering I was two thirds of the way in and things were getting really exciting.

The characterisation by Maas was so enjoyable; Celaena is already one of my favourite female protagonists. She’s such a strong, smart person, accepting that people she trusts may not be what they seem and making difficult decisions because she believes they will work out for the better in the long run even if it hurts her. She ha such a haunted past as well and I really look forward to learning more about her as a person.

The male characters in this book are also wonderful and bounce off Celaena so well. They never treat her like she’s any less of a person because she’s a woman, and whilst yes part of that is because she is such a well known assassin, they also have a genuine respect for her. Maas shows Prince Dorian to be a completely three dimensional character, who whilst being a bit of a playboy is also very kind hearted, and after their initial meeting Celaena doesn’t continue to judge him by his cover, which is such a commonly used trope in YA fiction. I absolutely adored the portrayal of Chaol’s struggle between his feelings and his duty.

I particularly enjoyed that Maas didn’t let romance become the main focus of the book after the initial fantasy aspect which happens quite regularly in books of this nature. Whilst the romance was always there it never took the limelight from the fear and excitement of the main plot.

In reading this book I found myself scared and nervous for what trials were going to come up next in the life of Celaena and found it so easy to imagine clearly and I’m so incredibly excited for what’s to come in the next books. I have so many questions but I’m also very content with the way the book ended. Maas didn’t leave it at a point where the reader would be very frustrated with the ending, just intrigued, and that can be a difficult balance to achieve.

2 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

